service honda 500

All Engine, Clutch, Chains, and Sprockets Stuff Here.
2strokeforever

service honda 500

Post by 2strokeforever »

I graduated then worked at a sawmill for 7 months saving all my money...to get a 500 :cool:
I got my service honda 500af today and I am very happy with it,
I live in bc canada the total cost was around $12 500 after tax, and it took a month and a half for it to arrive. the jetting it comes with is way off it wouldnt rev out, it has a pc pipe and spark aresstor 1200ft elevation. Main - 175 Pilot - 55 Needle - CCJ middle clip (thats the only writing on it), got a 42 pilot and 170 main and works way better but its still running rich, the plug is WET i can rub black goo on my hand from the ground arm... I am 140 lbs and it will wheelie in all gears without the clutch(I need to lean back a bit in 5th tho). I am suprised how easy it starts most of the time i can start it without my butt leaving the seat (140 LBS), but if it dosent start half the time it will "cough" is that normal or could my jetting causing this???. I was expecting it to be a uncontrolable monster but is is very predictable and easy to ride, i found that i can pay more atention to what the bike is doing ,instead of what the motor is doing, compared to a 125. My friend compared the power delivery to a diesel truck very easy to use. the welds on the frame look good, but not as good as hondas welds, very close tho. I know how to jet my bike but I am broke and the dealer wants $9 a jet so I would apreciate any advice that will get me close. the only thing that I didnt like is I burnt 5 liters in 2 hours of trail riding, and the tank holds around 8.5-9 liters, but I think the jetting is partly to blame. handles AMAZIMG better than my former 02 cr 125, but I didnt like the flywheel effect, anyone have a 00-01 250 ignition they are willing to trade for basicaly brand new stock system?:D or sell