91 top end rebuild ?'s

All Engine, Clutch, Chains, and Sprockets Stuff Here.
dog walker

91 top end rebuild ?'s

Post by dog walker »

Hi guys, newbie here. You know that though! I've been lurking around here for awhile, really need some help now!

Last weekend at Sand Mnt., I was about 10 minutes in and hauling butt up a dune when my engine starting clanking (pinging) and before I could reach the top, the engine just stopped. I thought I seized it, but was able to kick it over. It had almost no compression. My thoughts were wasted rings, or cracked/broken piston.

After pulling it apart a couple days ago I found the piston to have verticle scrapes from about 3/4 to the top of the piston spaced about even with the the skirts. So there's like 4 marks on the piston. The rings are ground into the grooves as well (on these marks). The cylinder has the same marks, but not as severe. I can try and post pics tonight if that would help.

I'm trying to figure out what the cause was before I bore and replace the piston. I did not find any broken or foreign peices in the cylinder. Thanks,

Jeff
south central hoon

Post by south central hoon »

post photos. probably just hot and tired.
dog walker

Post by dog walker »

I could'nt figure out how to attach images this thread, so I uploaded 5 pics into this album.
http://www.bannedcr500riders.com/galler ... ?cat=10801
lewisclan
PVT. 1st Class

Post by lewisclan »

Seizure from holding it open or not having your jetting right
have a nice day
Image"the game of life of is not so much in holding a good hand as playing a poor hand well"
iggys-amsoil

Post by iggys-amsoil »

Stock porting? D needle.
hoofarted

Post by hoofarted »

lewisclan wrote:Seizure from holding it open or not having your jetting right
have a nice day
X2! Check your jetting. What ratio u running? Oil?
The CR500 is an acquired taste. If you don't like it, acquire some taste...

dannygraves

Post by dannygraves »