What is the best Carburetor for the CR500?

Good Purchase? Paper Weight? Speak Up!!!
vito.a

Post by vito.a »

I’m interested in your experiences with carbs for the CR500. My OEM carb starts easy, but has a "4 cycle spot” from 1/8-1/4 throttle and then a big hit when it goes into 2 cycle above 1/4 throttle. It’s very difficult to tune out during the summer heat. Not a problem on the motocross track, but in the tight trails it’s a handful.

I see the Service Honda bikes use a Keihin 39.5mm carb, but I can’t find a listing for a 39.5 in the Keihin catalog.
I did find a listing for a Keihin 39mm PWK and its very reasonably priced.

Some folks are telling me to run the Keihin 38mm Air Striker as it’s easier to tune for a wide range of conditions. I rode a CR250 with an Air Striker and the throttle control was awesome, but I'm concerned it's too small for a 500.
Kuma

Post by Kuma »

I'll reply but I'm no expert just what I understand from the sites:
stock PJ38, I still run it but I run mainly dunes, I have no complaints but then again I am just in an ignorant bliss.

39.5 PKW, this is the carb that seems to be the best all around, Eric Gore claims it adds 3 HP to the top end and everyone that runs them here seems to have good things to say especially regarding running on the low part of the throttle like to mention.

38 PKW AS, same size as the PJ, it does have some obstructions in it but I would think anything you loos on the top would not be noticeable with the exception of a drag race.

You can read up on the new carbs and the pulse systems, I think the jury is still out on them.

Lectron, if you want wide open only, I hear that is about all they are good for but maybe with the right tuner they could be made to work?

I have a 39.5 PWK waiting to go on my bike but so far I'm too satisfied with the PJ to make the change, I feel like now I have something very reliable, making a change like that could cause me to melt my engine. or I'm just too lazy :oops: